Bill Hood Topper 2018
Sunday, October 13, 2019
Bill Hood Nissan 2019
NOMC 2019 Magnolia OB
Sherman Mack 2019
Thursday is final day for candidates to qualify for fall ballot

Thursday is final day for candidates to qualify for fall ballot

Author: Action News 17/Wednesday, August 7, 2019/Categories: Front Page, Latest Stories

PHOTO: Tangipahoa Parish President Robby Miller and First Lady Donna Miller were all smiles as he signed in to file his official notice of candidacy on Tuesday. Miller is seeking his second term as Parish President. (Photo courtesy of Robby Miller)

Qualifying for the Oct. 12 ballot continued in earnest in Amite on Wednesday, as parish and town council elections began to take shape for the fall election.

As of the close of business on Wednesday, the following candidates have announced their intentions to run for office on the fall ballot:

Associate Justice, Louisiana Supreme Court: Will Crain of Madisonville; Richard Ducote of Covington; Hans Liljeberg of Metairie; Scott Schlegel of Metairie;

BESE District 6: Ciara Hart of Baton Rouge; Ronnie Morris of Baton Rouge; Gregory Spiers of Springfield;

BESE District 8: Vereta Tanner Lee of Baton Rouge; Jonathan Loveall of Clinton; Chakesha Webb Scott of Zachary;

Senate District 6: Bodi White of Baton Rouge;

Senate District 11: Daniel Ducote of Madisonville; Reid Falconer of Madisonville; Patrick McMath of Covington;

Senate District 12: Darrell Fairburn of Kentwood; Beth Mizell of Franklington;

Senate District 13: Edith Carlin of Denham Springs; Deven Cavalier of Denham Springs; J. Rogers Pope of Denham Springs;

State Rep. District 72: Robby Carter of Greensburg;

State Rep. District 73: Dr. Bill Wheat of Ponchatoula;

State Rep. District 74: Larry Frieman of Covington; Cindy Renee Winch of Covington;

State Rep. District 86: Nicholas Muscarello, Jr. of Hammond;

21st Judicial District Court Judge Division D: Brian Abels of Denham Springs; Ernie Drake of Springfield; William Scott Dykes of Hammond;

Sheriff: Cameron Crockett of Tickfaw; Daniel Edwards of Independence; Arden Wells of Ponchatoula;

Clerk of Court: Gary Stanga of Ponchatoula;

Assessor: JR Matheu of Robert;

Parish President: Robby Miller of Hammond;

Parish Council District 1: Trenton Craig “Trent” Forrest of Kentwood; Sheila Varnado Stewart of Amite;

Parish Council District 2: James Bailey of Husser; John Gary Ingraffia of Husser; Don Marshall of Ponchatoula; Greg Varnado of Amite;

Parish Council District 3: Louis Nick Joseph of Independence; Eve Wilson of Amite;

Parish Council District 4: Carlo Bruno of Independence; Phillip David Ridder, Jr. of Tickfaw;

Parish Council District 5: Buddy Ridgel of Tickfaw;

Parish Council District 6: Joey Mayeaux of Hammond;

Parish Council District 7: Lionell Wells of Hammond;

Parish Council Disttrict 8: David Vial of Hammond;

Parish Council District 9: Glenn Dale Bridges of Ponchatoula; Brigette Delatte Hyde of Ponchatoula; Kyle Mitchell of Ponchatoula; Joey Richard of Ponchatoula;

Parish Council District 10: Kim Landry Coates of Ponchatoula; Bobby Cortez of Hammond;

Ponchatoula Mayor: Guy Huffine; Bob Zabbia;

Independence Mayor: Angelo Mannino; Jim Paine;

Ponchatoula Police Chief: Bry Layrisson;

Independence Police Chief: Frank M. Edwards, III;

Independence Aldermen (5 to be elected): Calvin Batiste; Larry Cardaronella; Ogdon Carter; Paul J. Liuzza, Sr.

Ponchatoula City Council District A: Melissa Gueldner; Braville J. LeBlanc;

Ponchatoula City Council District B: Roslind Batiste; Veronica Palmer;

Ponchatoula City Council District C: Jeff Daniels; Thomas J. Kuhn;

Ponchatoula City Council District D: Melvin “Mussyboy” Austin; Morris Mashon; Melvin Toomer;

Ponchatoula City Council District E: Vergil Sandifer;

Qualifying continues Thursday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

The close of business on Thursday, Aug. 8, is the deadline to qualify for the Oct. 12 primary ballot.

Number of views (1652)/Comments (0)

Noland Stewart Salon 2019
ACF Right Rec
Addington Chiro 2019 Green outdoors
Driver Blue 2019
FP Arena 2019