Saturday, January 19, 2019

Tolar, Abrams, Bush, and Dominguez win School Board races

Tolar, Abrams, Bush, and Dominguez win School Board races
Posted: Nov 6, 2018
Categories: Front Page, Headlines
Comments: 0
With seven of its nine seats on the primary ballot, two veteran Tangipahoa Parish School Board members were re-elected Tuesday night; two freshmen were added to the Board, and the three remaining spots are heading to a Dec. 8 run-off.

According to complete but unofficial returns from the Tangipahoa Parish Clerk of Court’s office, incumbent School Board members Tom Tolar and Rose Dominguez were easily re-elected in Tuesday’s primary election while newcomers Robin Abrams and Randy Bush also secured posts on the Board. The three remaining seats are still to be decided.

*In District B, incumbent Tom Tolar defeated Rodney Lee with 72 percent of the vote.

*In District I, incumbent Rose Dominguez defeated two challengers to retain her seat on the board. Dominguez carried 64 percent of the vote, while John H. Wright, Jr. followed with 19 percent of the vote. Arden Wells finished in third place with 17 percent of the vote.

Newly elected to the board are freshmen Robin Abrams and Randy Bush. Abrams won the District C race with 72 percent against Janice Holland, and in District F, Bush received 54 percent of the vote in a four-candidate field. Incumbent Mike Whitlow followed with 27 percent of the vote. Bishop E. Rene Soule finished in third place with 14 percent of the vote, and Chris Cohea came in fourth with 5 percent.

Still to be decided out of Tuesday’s School Board races are the District A, D, and G races, which are headed to a Dec. 8 run-off.

*In District A, challenger Janice Fultz Richards led the votes Tuesday night, garnering 49 percent of the vote. Incumbent Walter Daniels received 37 percent of the vote, and Amite Councilman Jonathon Foster placed third with 14 percent of the vote. Fultz-Richards and Daniels will continue on to the run-off Dec. 8.

*In District D, Glenn Westmoreland will face Terran Perry in the Dec. 8 run-off. Westmoreland received 41 percent of the vote to Perry’s 34 percent. Phillip David Ridder, Jr. finished in third with 25 percent of the vote.

*In District G, incumbent Betty Robinson earned 43 percent of the vote, but it was not enough to avoid a run-off with challenger Jerry Brown, who had 32 percent of the vote. Third place candidate Alvon Brumfield received 24 percent of the vote.

Sandra Bailey Simmons and Brett Duncan were re-elected to their seats without opposition back in July during the candidate qualifying period.

Board members will be sworn in for a four-year term of office beginning in early January.