Bill Hood Topper 2018
Friday, August 23, 2019
Bill Hood Outlet
Hammond Square Place to Be

SLU's Gaconi named Louisiana Pitcher of Year

SLU's Gaconi named Louisiana Pitcher of Year
Posted: Jun 24, 2019
Categories: Front Page, Good News
Comments: 0
HAMMOND, La. – The latest postseason honor for Southeastern Louisiana senior pitcher Corey Gaconi came on Saturday, when the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) named him the state’s Pitcher of the Year in conjunction with the release of the 2019 All-Louisiana College Baseball Team.

The Metairie, Louisiana native was also named first team All-Louisiana. Gaconi is the second Lion to be named the state’s Pitcher of the Year, joining Tyler Watkins (2011).

With the right hander earning the state’s top honor, his trophy case has been filled with almost every award available both athletically and academically. In addition to being the Louisiana Pitcher of the Year, Gaconi has been named CoSIDA Academic All-America, Southland Conference Pitcher of the Year, Southland Student-Athlete of the Year and ABCA/All-Region.

Gaconi finished the year with a 7-3 record and a 2.57 earned run average, holding opponents to a .244 batting average and striking out 95 in 108.2 innings of work. Gaconi’s control was his greatest asset, as he only walked 11 batters on the season, ranking among the Division I national leaders in strikeout-to-walk ratio (8.64, 4th) and walks allowed per nine innings (0.91, 5th).

Gaconi, who graduated in May with a 3.92 cumulative grade point average, was just as impressive off the field. At the inaugural Lion Choice Awards in April, Gaconi was honored as the graduating SLU male student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average.

Other top individual honors were given to Tulane’s Kody Hoese (Hitter of the Year), ULM’s Trent Tingelstad (Newcomer of the Year), Hudson Haskin of Tulane (Freshman of the Year) and Southern’s Kerrick Jackson (Coach of the Year). The All-Louisiana teams and individual awards were selected by a statewide panel of sports information directors and media members.
Mack: Westmoreland 2019
Robbie Lee State Farm
ACF Right Rec
Greg Varnado for Parish Council 2019
Driver Blue 2019
FP Arena 2019