Bill Hood Topper 2018
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Bill Hood Nissan 2019
Brian Abels 2019
Mack: Pat Dunn 2019
Inaugurations continue in Hammond, Livingston, and Amite

Inaugurations continue in Hammond, Livingston, and Amite

7th Ward Marshal-Elect Pat Farris with outgoing Marshal Gordon Anderson, who has held the post for 40 years

Author: Action News 17/Thursday, January 1, 2015/Categories: Front Page, Politics

The new year will bring new terms of office for dozens of elected officials in our area.

From city leaders to School Board representatives and local justice officials, a full slate of candidates will take their oaths of office and begin new terms on or immediately after Jan. 1.

Jan. 4:
Judge Ray Chutz will take his oath as an Appeals Court Judge during ceremonies scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. at the Livingston Parish Courthouse. Chutz replaces Judge James “Jimmy” Kuhn, who retired from the court at the end of the 2014 term.

Jan. 5:
Judge Grace Bennett Gasaway and the staff of the City Court of Hammond will hold their swearing in ceremonies at the Leon Ford III Memorial Justice Building starting at 9 a.m. A reception will immediately follow.

7th Ward Marshal Pat Farris and his staff will take their oaths of office at 1:30 p.m. in the offices of the Hammond Court. Retired Judge Jimmy Kuhn will administer the oath to Farris, who is taking over the office following the retirement of longtime marshal Gordon Anderson. A reception will follow in the eastside lobby of the Columbia Theatre, across the street from the Hammond Court.

That evening, Tickfaw Mayor Tony Lamonte, Chief Frank Dibenedetto, Jr., and their three-member board of aldermen will be sworn in during ceremonies at the Tickfaw City Hall starting at 6 p.m.

Lamonte said the new board includes incumbent Michael Fedele and newcomers Steve Garofalo and Guy J. Ribando.

Jan. 6:
Hammond’s new Mayor Pete Panepinto and his council will take their oaths of office prior to the start of the Hammond City Council meeting at 5:30 p.m. Ceremonies will be held in the Council chambers office at the corner of E. Charles and N. Holly Street. Incumbents Johnny Blount, Jason Hood, Lemar Marshall, and Mike Williams will be joined by newcomer Janice Clark-Beard on the council, which will meet immediately following the swear-in ceremony.

At 6 p.m., the newly-elected members of the Tangipahoa Parish School Board will take their oaths of office in ceremonies scheduled Jan. 6 at the Central Office in Amite.

The Honorable Judge James Kuhn, retired from the Louisiana First Circuit Court of Appeal, will preside over the inaugural ceremonies and administer the oath of office to the board.

Immediately following, the newly-installed board members will meet to elect their officers and set their meeting day and time for the upcoming year.

The School Board Central Office is located at the corner of LA 16 West and Puleston Road. All Board meetings are open to the public.

Jan. 11:
The area’s newest 21st Judicial District Judges Jeff Cashe and Jeff Johnson will take their oaths of office in ceremonies planned for 2 p.m. at the Tangipahoa Parish Courthouse in Amite. They will be joined by their fellow 21st Judicial District Court judges as they take their places on the local court bench.

Jan. 12:
21st Judicial District Attorney Scott Perrilloux will be sworn in for his fourth term in office.

Number of views (5579)/Comments (0)

Enviro 2019 July
ACF Right Rec
Addington Chiro 2019 Green outdoors
Anytime Fitness Amite 2019
FP Arena 2019