Thursday, August 16, 2018

ILA participates in Brown Foundation Service Learning project

Posted: Sunday, January 14, 2018 | Views: 665

ILA participates in Brown Foundation Service Learning project
INDEPENDENCE---Fifth graders, at Independence Leadership Academy, participate in a Service Learning Project funded by the Brown Foundation. Service learning is a learn-by-doing approach to the curriculum, sponsored by the Brown Foundation, and accomplished through a partnership with Belle Maison Nursing Home. Ms. Sharon Philipson and Mrs. Catherine Maklary, 5th grade teachers at ILA, support the students learning in the Service Club.
Through the service learning program, ILA students are making a difference in the community in an intentional way. The students are following the service learning steps of investigation, preparation, action, reflection, demonstration and evaluation by linking what is studied in the classroom to addressing a community need. This program encourages students to apply academic, personal and social skills in improving their community, to continue their individual growth, and to become better citizens.

Recently, the students worked with their art teacher, Mrs. Stephanie Amos, to paint terracotta pots. They then planted a succulent in each pot and brought them to Belle Maison nursing home residents as gifts. The students sang Christmas songs and spent quality time with residents by experiencing the joy of giving.

PHOTOS: Ceasar Carrion and Mr. John Traylor, Belle Maison resident, exchange gifts during Independence Leadership Academy’s visit through the Brown Foundation.

Trent Higgs gives resident, Seaton Williams the succulent and pot that he painted in preparation for his visit to Belle Maison nursing home.

Kenyra Hubbard, 5th grade student from ILA, visits with Mrs. Shirley Westmoreland at Belle Maison Nursing home.

Group photo: (back row) Nicole Bassimer (para), Logan Thompson, Pablo Menjivar, Trent Higgs, Alex Guevera, Jacob Phillips, Carlos Perez, Andrew Holton, Michelle Delgado, America Gomez, Esmerelda Godinez, Sharon Philipson (teacher), Karyme Sanchez, Jacob Pina, Demyrien Irving (middle row) Kentrell Jackson, Allen Braase, Amari Sexton, Rylie Stockton, Samyah Gill, Ja’myra Trussell, Tommy Cortez, Eviana Self, Jade Wilson-Young, Joshua Pina (front row) Adrienne Dugas, Arial Dugas, Jasmine Wilson-Young, Aaliyah Miller, Alyssa Avist, Angela Ortega, Keelan Palmer and Nataleigh Wolfe