Bill Hood Group
Boston Restaurant 2020
Piggly Wiggly 2019
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Bill Hood Nissan 2019
Hammond Square Self Storage 2019
20 AD Colt Fore Prime Banner
Hammond Square Generic Mobile

5 LPSS teachers win student-focused service project grants

Posted: Tuesday, October 22, 2019 | Views: 3211

5 LPSS teachers win student-focused service project grants

LIVINGSTON, La. – Five Livingston Parish teachers have been selected to receive a Deborah Rochelle Teacher Grant to support school-site projects that provide direct service to students.

Those teachers include D’anna Macaluso and Carrie Young from Juban Parc Elementary; Leah Davis from Southside Elementary; Rebekah O’Neal from North Corbin Junior High; and Michelle Crochet from Live Oak Junior High.

The Deborah Rochelle Teacher Grant program was initiated in 1991 by the Kelly Gene Cook Sr. Charitable Foundation, based in Jackson, Mississippi, to enhance education by funding school site personnel for instructional, research-based projects that provide direct service to students. The program was named to honor the person who is responsible for its origination and organization.

The grants awarded to the teachers for the 2019-2020 year do not exceed $5,000 per award. Applicants must clearly discuss implementation of their projects and explain how the planned activities support students in meeting the goals and objectives.

Macaluso received $4,994 for her project “Prevent a Gap with the Lap.”

Young earned $5,000 for her proposal, “Developing 21st Century Skills.”

Davis received $4,843 for her project “Using Technology for Academic Success.”

O’Neal received $5,000 for “Blending Learning in the Classroom.”

Crochet earned $5,000 for the project, “Design. Build. Experiment. Repeat.”

“We are so proud of these teachers for taking the initiative to apply for these grants and to develop projects that are research-based and focused on improving our students’ academic performance,” Superintendent Joe Murphy said. “Their rewarded efforts are just a great example of the lengths and depths our teachers go to advance learning in our classrooms.”

“Much congratulations to the winners, and I’m looking forward to seeing the positive impacts of their efforts throughout the school year,” Murphy added.
Mack Law Firm: Westmoreland 2019
Noland Stewart Salon 2019
Amite City Furniture 2019
Addington Chiropractic 2020