Thursday, June 21, 2018

Tolar, Shumate, Graham, Abels elected without opposition

Tolar, Shumate, Graham, Abels elected without opposition
Posted: Jul 14, 2017
Categories: Front Page, Headlines
Comments: 0
AMITE—Interim Tangipahoa Parish School Board member Tom Tolar has been elected without opposition to fill the seat left vacant by the resignation earlier this year of Gail Pittman McDaniel.

Tolar, a businessman and former member of the Tangipahoa Parish Council, was appointed in March to serve in McDaniel’s seat until qualifying this summer.

Once election officials are able to close the books on the qualifying period, Tolar can be sworn in to serve the remainder of McDaniel’s term, which runs until the end of 2018.

Also elected without opposition during the qualifying period were Denham Springs Marshal Joe Shumate, Livingston Parish School Board member David “Bo” Graham of Walker and 10th Ward Constable Kathleen Abels.

The October 14 ballot will include a number of local, regional, and statewide races, including:

Treasurer: “Ron” Ceasar (I-Opelousas); Angele Davis (R-Baton Rouge); Derrick Edwards (D-Harvey); Terry Hughes (R-Lafayette); Joseph D. Little (L-Ponchatoula); Neil Riser (R-Columbia); John Schroder (R-Baton Rouge).

PSC District 2: Damon J. Baldone (R-Houma); Craig C. Greene (R-Baton Rouge); Lenar Whitney (R-Houma).

State Representative District 77: Laura Condrey Ward (NP-Covington); “Rob Maness (R-Madisonville); Casey Revere (R-Madisonville); Mark Wright (R-Covington).

22nd Judicial District Judge, Division E: James W. “Jay” Adair (R-Mandeville); William H. Burris (R-Franklinton); Charles F. Wartelle (R-Folsom).

22nd Judicial District Judge, Division H: Reginald “Reggie” Laurent (R-Mandeville); Alan A. Zaunbrecher (R-Covington).

Clerk of Court: Gary Stanga (D-Ponchatoula); Arden Wells (R-Ponchatoula).

Justice of the Peace Ward 2: Vickie Yarborough Blades (R-Kentwood); Juandalynn Brumfield (D-Kentwood); Margie Simmons (D-Kentwood).

Denham Springs City Council: Amber Dugas (R); Scott Kimble (R); Raphineas “Ray” Riley (D); Brian Edward Ross (R); Laura Schmitt Smith (R); Keith Stark (R).

Council District 2: “Dave” Fitzgerald (R-Covington); Joe Freeman (D-Abita Springs); Marvin Lawson (NP-Abita Springs); Clark Taylor (I-Covington).